Carpe fucking Diem

by eltomboy

I totally thought I posted Mara’s introduction post weeks ago, however it was just sitting there in my drafts. Majorly annoying.

Now I am sitting up with just my little girl, Tim took Wyatt to sleep hours ago and it is so nice to just enjoy some quiet time. It’s very easy to forget how simple it is just to open a laptop, or to watch TV with the volume at a decent level, or to simply load the dishwasher without someone pulling out every piece of silverware almost immediately after you put it in. It’s these things that seem hugely bothersome now that I am sure I will miss. Like when I have two sassy teenagers someday, I’ll wish they were just thrashing the house and getting fingerprints on every imaginable surface instead of completely hating me. I’m fully prepared for the day that happens. So, I will hold every single kiss and all the hugs in the forefront of my mind and try not to focus on all of the madness… at least for now.

This is by far the most I have ever been loved in my life. I have a baby boy that smothers me in kisses and hugs on a daily basis, I have a teeny tiny baby that needs me every second of her life and a man that rushes home to kiss me and love up on me and his babies. It truly is a wonderful existence. I think we can get lost in the day to day, but if we really examine our lives, we have it oh so good.

I read something today that really resonated with me.
“Jorge Luis Borges wrote a short story in 1941,”The Garden of Forking Paths” about time. His example suggested time-space as a labyrinth. As you travel in the labyrinth you come to a forking path. At each forking path you must make a decision to go onto one path or the other. It is that decision that defines your life through time-space. Every possibility for your life exists in that labyrinth (time-space) but you only define one path. But every possibility is there and will be eternally.”

Each and every minute we can take one of a million paths. What’s stopping us from doing something different. Every possibility is there. It really is. I am on my path with two babies and that makes my life just that much more exciting. Two human responsibilities. It makes me realize how precious and quick life is. Carpe Diem mother fuckers, carpe fucking diem. Live the life you want. Let your kids make you crazy, but love it anyways. Kat, buy those phantogram tickets for New York. Tim, start filming your fishing movie. Tom, move to Montana like you’ve always dreamed. Just fucking do it, do what you want. Live in this moment. I know everyone has said this all before, but I really believe it and hope everyone thinks like this on a daily basis. Think of every choice you’ve made and every choice you will make, make it with intention and remember you have the power to control each and every second of your life, don’t let anyone else do it for you.

I know it sounds easier said then done, but trust me, someday you’ll look back and be so happy you lived your fucking life. and now, I’ll give my wild babies sleepy kisses and let them pull out all of their books and throw their juice off the table and live fully each and every moment I have with them.

