Thanks Kat!

by eltomboy

I received a text the other day from my best friend that went a little something like this….

“It’s been 2 MONTHS since you’ve blogged!”

After giving her excuse after excuse as to why I’m such a bad blogger, she would have nothing to do with it and told me she’d make me a new banner and redo my layout. Voila, twenty minutes later and check out this beauty. I’m enthralled. So, here’s to new beginnings. It’s a new year after all, so why not start out on a good note. Thank you Kat, I love it so much, you’re the best ever.

Well, I guess I have some catching up to do!

-Wyatt had his first Christmas and first New Year. It was pretty epic. We could pretty much open up a children’s store with all of the gifts he received. No joke, there are even doubles. It’s kinda ridiculous, but at the same time I love how spoiled he is. I think it is very special that he is the first grandson for all of his grandparents. He’s one lucky little guy.

-I went to my first auction and I’m hooked. Going to the flea markets and thrift shops is one thing, but auctions, man are they fun. Competitive, exciting and loud! Who knew? I came home with tons of goodies and can’t wait to clean them up and repaint and sell quite a few things. My inventory for selling things is getting a bit out of control and I have to find a good outlet to move stuff. Online sales? Keep up with the Instagram sales? Open a market in town?  I’m not sure yet, but it’s constantly on my mind. I know I could make something work, I just have to get out there and do it.

-Of course when I’m sitting here at my computer I can’t think of anything to write really. I have all these ideas floating in my head of what to post and then when I actually go to do it I come up blank. I should probably be a little easier on myself, but I set such lofty goals that they are very quickly unattainable. For example, I have this quilt that I have been dying to finish. And all I have left to do is the damn binding, but no matter what way I slice it, I can’t do it. Either I pin it all wrong and hand sewing gets all wonky, or I try machine sewing and my needle breaks and so I stare at it guiltily in the corner of my work table and just pray that it finishes itself. I will get to it eventually, I just never give it the proper time and attention. And it’s a queen size quilt, so the binding is a big pain in the ass part of it. I have strayed so much from the point it is not even funny, but the fact of the matter is just like quilting, blogging has the same effect. I have these brilliant days of thinking up a million ideas and planning out days of posts and I never write them down, or even begin to blog. Stuck in my head is where they stay. I’m working on it!

-I’m just going to leave this wayward post as is. Try not to jinx anything and see how quickly I come back. Enter winky smiley face here.

ImageImageImagePictures from Yellowstone National Park summer 2013. Color inspo.

