The times are a changin’

by eltomboy

So, one of my favorite blogs of all time has officially called it quits and I’m partially heartbroken, but also kind of happy for her. Have you ever read Harpers Happenings? Well if you haven’t, Mandy is addicting to read. She writes from the heart, shoots from the hip and says exactly what everyone is thinking. I loved her take on mothering and blunt honesty about absolutely everything involved, even the nitty gritty details that most shy away from. I will miss her, I still stalk her on Instagram and she was one of my early followers that made me squeal with excitement because why would Mandy want to follow me, but gosh that made me love her anymore. Find her at @teammandy

Anyways, I’m getting away from myself. My point was going to be that in her farewell post she said that blogging wasn’t the same and everyone is trying to climb some invisible ladder to get to who knows where. I have to say, I completely agree with this. It is so hard to keep up. You can’t just post Instagram pics, you have to perfectly stage all of your photographs/photoshop them to death, you have to really give it your all in terms of content, it’s all just so much! And about two maybe three years ago I remember bloggers starting all these “start your own blog” e-classes and bullshit and suddenly as if overnight every stay at home mom was a blogger, everyone had a DIY that needed to be shared, everyone did everything better and needed to show you. And the one thing that always bothered me was they make it seem so easy. Take good pictures and post everyday. Sure that worked back then, but what about now?

And the fashion bloggers, don’t even get me started, what is that pose they all do?! I don’t care what you’re wearing everyday, I don’t care how many fancy brands send you fabulous crap that you get to flounce around in and have your lame boyfriend take your pics, add a million filters and then post it like you had a lazy Monday morning just being cool. Come on. And then you’ll notice that everyone is doing the same thing. Hardly anything stands out anymore.

Blog is short for web log. Did you know that? I love documenting bits and pieces of my life, I love having an outlet, but I don’t like caring about stats, caring if what I’m writing applies to an audience, so I’m just going to keep doing what I do. Reposting Instagram pictures, writing current real life happenings and stop trying to be something I’m not. I don’t care if I stand out or if anyone is really reading, I just want to be able to look back and see a picture and read a memory.

So, I wish you well Mandy. I am so happy for you and thank you for putting a lot of this into perspective for me. Sorry for the rant, but man oh man It was a long time coming! Thanks for reading! Insert sarcasm here 😉

20131112-190119.jpg

