>"Second to the right, and straight on till morning."

by eltomboy

>

Photo:Chris Faczek

It was as if I could scoop up all the stars in my hands and scatter them around me. Tonight my friend and I headed up to Santa Clarita to check out the Perseid meteor shower that is happening this time of year and I could not be happier that I did. I needed to sit under the stars and think. Clear my head.


It was amazing to feel a weight lifted as soon as I laid down. I saw around 10 shooting stars and forgot to make a wish almost every time, but one. I hope it comes true 🙂 It felt so good to get out of the city and away from all the noise and confusion and just realize that the universe is bigger than you’ll ever know. It usually gives me a headache just thinking about it! Puts things in perspective. For the million star related quotes, lyrics, ect. to me tonight reminded me of one of my favorite poems, which I’m sure you’ve heard.



The Summer Day

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
With your one wild and precious life?
-Mary Oliver



And who can’t look at the sky and think of this lyric,

the sky resembles a backlit canopy
with holes punched in it”
Thanks Incubus. High school anyone? No, Just me? Ok.

I really think I could have stayed there all night. I need to do things like that more often. Sometimes it’s nice to just be quiet and content and not always restless and searching as I usually am.

I have so many thoughts running through my head now, it’s hard to straighten out my thoughts, but I just had to get some of these ideas out now. I really should have waited til the morning to write, but I just couldn’t 🙂

Good night.





